Rainbow Nursing Interest Group (RNIG)

About Us:

Cost of interest group: $20 and free for B.Sc.N. students

Please note:  if you "login" to "MyRNAO", you will have access to way more information about us - RNIG. 


Check the RNAO InFocus page

  2SLGBTQi+ community- June 2022…    here


The Rainbow Nursing Interest Group (RNIG), an interest group of the Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario, was founded in 2007.

RNIG values evidence-informed, inclusive, reflective, respectful, safe and supportive care and environments for people of all sexual orientations and gender identities and expressions.

RNIG envisions every space a positive space. 


To foster and advocate for nursing practice and environments that support people of all sexual orientations and gender identities and expressions.

Overall Goals:

  • to support the 2SLGBTTIQQAA community; 
  • to increase visibility of our association.


  • to challenge invisibility and silencing faced by 2SLGBTQi+ (Two-Spirit, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transsexual, Transgender, Intersex, Queer, Questioning, Asexual and Ally) people;

  • to facilitate evidence-informed nursing care that reflects the needs of 2SLGBTQi+ clients;

  • To advocate for 2SLGBTQi+ clients, significant others, friends, and family members, and provide resources, support and knowledge for registered nurses, their communities, and each other.

The story behind our RNIG design:

  • Lively, colourful: the rainbow represents pride; RN to represent Rainbow Nursing and can also be associated with Registered Nurse;

  •  Overlapping pink/blue represents the continuum of gender roles and sexual orientation;

  •  All the letters touching represents the idea of inclusion.

Cost of interest group: $20 for RNs, NPs, CNSs;  – free for B.Sc.N. students.

RNIG - Provincial President:
Paul-André Gauthier (he / him // il / lui) –  Rainbow-RNIG@hotmail.com  or  pgauthier@rnao.ca

RNIG Executive Team (ENO):

  • President-Elect (2021-2022) – Shelley Evans (she / her).
  • Policy and Political Action – Christopher Draenos (he / him).
  • Communications / Secretary – John Edwards (he / him).
  • Finances – Linda Holm (she / her).
  • Membership – Abigayle Bowell (she / her).
  • Social Media – Ruth Trinier (they / them).
  • Workplace Liaison – Zev Bernstein (he / him).
  • B.Sc.N. Student Liaison (2) – Kashka Ironside (she / her) & Kieran Thiara (he / him).

New information as of Sept. 2020:

  • the Annual Report - 2019-2020 & 2021  here
  • the list of Executive members for 2020-2021 here

Like us on Facebook

Last updated: January, 2022