Skip to main content

About Primary Care Nurses' of Ontario 

Cost of interest group: $50; Free for nursing students



Primary Care Nurses' of Ontario(PCNO) supports all nurses working in primary care, RN, RPN, and NP. Nurses in primary care are often the first point of contact between a patient and the health care system. Their every day includes illness prevention, health promotion, health education, diagnosis, treatment,  and counseling. Their work is patient-centered with people from birth to the end of life.

Primary Care workplaces include; Family Health Teams(FHT), Family Health Organizations(FHO), Community Health Clinics(CHC), Nurse Practitioner-Led Clinics(NPLC), College and University health clinics, and solo family physician practices. 

The PCNO's mission is to support primary care nurses across the provinces to ensure they have the resources to work to full scope to be able to provide people in Ontario with more access to primary care.

PCNO provides members with opportunities for:

  • knowledge exchange through professional development including relevant webinars and bi-annual conference
  • networking with other primary care nurses
  • involvement on professional practice committees
  • participation in annual general meetings (AGMs)
  • advocacy on issues important and relevant to primary care nurses.


As a member of this RNAO interest group you are entitled to:

  • PCNO eBlasts/newsletters
  • Communication and updates via PCNO social media platforms including Instagram and Facebook
  • Free webinars via our "lunch and learns"
  • Discounted rates for our bi-annual conference (October 2024)
  • Representation at RNAO assembly meetings
  • Forum to influence health policy
  • Access to the national group, CFPNA


Nurses working in primary care face unique challenges. By joining the PCNO you will grow professionally and feel supported by many other nurses sharing the same issues. We have positions open in our executive team. If you are interested in joining the executive team, please email

PCNO Executive 2022-2023

  • President: Amber Brown
  • Past President: Empty
  • Political Action: Faria Qureshi
  • Secretary: Empty
  • Membership: Jackie Ripco
  • Communications Officer: Empty 
  • Member at Large: Janet Probst
  • Finance: Tsering Sundup
  • Social Media: Stephanie Machado

    Last updated: January 2024